Celebrate the New Home of Greenwich History
Opening Day Party
Saturday, October 6, 2018
Join us for a truly grand Opening Day Party on Saturday, October 6. On this banner day, we’ll officially open for business and be ready to share our beautiful new campus with one and all. Guests should plan to gather for the official ribbon cutting ceremony at the new upper parking lot Museum Lobby entrance at noon; remarks by Greenwich First Selectman Peter Tesei, Connecticut State Representative Scott Frantz and United States Senator Richard Blumenthal will commence at 12:10 pm, and the official ribbon cutting will take place at 12:30 pm.
The new library and archives, museum store and galleries featuring inaugural exhibitions will be open throughout the afternoon with staff available to answer questions about the facility and gardens.
We open the doors to our new campus on October 6!
Live music by popular bluegrass-swing band Too Blue begins at 1:00 pm, and kids can enjoy craft projects including scarecrow making, cornhusk dolls, birdhouses, face painting, an organ grinder and more throughout the afternoon. Family-friendly tours of Bush-Holley House will take place every 30 minutes.
If after all that, you’ve worked up an appetite, Dough Girls on the Go will be serving wood-fired pizzas, the Tiki Food Truck will be selling pulled pork, Hawaiian shave ice and other treats, Mike’s Organic Delivery will have a farm stand, and Randy’s Wines of Cos Cob will have beer and wine for sale.
Come… and party like it’s 1899!
Saturday, October 6, 2018; Noon to 4:00 pm
Admission is free and all are welcome. Please help us plan by registering online or calling 203-869-6899.
Behind-the-Scenes Site Tours
Explore the artful blend of historic restoration and new construction at our newly reimagined site. Special tours of the new buildings and grounds will showcase discoveries made during construction including historic wallpaper, an original key for Toby’s Tavern and highlights from the Historical Society’s collections.
John Bridge will lead 45-minute tours of the new Library and Archives, the Gallery for Special Exhibitions, the Gallery for Permanent Collections, museum lobby, Museum Store and Artists’ Café. Guests will have the opportunity to ask questions about the new facility, its design and construction and its significance to the organization and the community in the preservation of the town’s history. A Greenwich native, John is a graduate of Greenwich High School and Georgetown University with a BA in English. He is delighted to educate and entertain both children and adults as a docent for the Bush-Holley House.
Tours are included in museum admission and will start in the museum lobby at the front desk.
Sunday, October 7 tours with Anna Greco are sold out.
Additional tours with John Bridge:
Sunday, October 14, 2018, 2:15 pm
Sunday, October 21, 2018, 2:15 pm
Space is limited.
To reserve, email firstname.lastname@example.org or call 203.869-6899.
History on the Move:
Greenwich Avenue Walking Tour
Wednesday, October 17, 2018 (Sorry, this tour is sold out.)
It is hard to imagine that Greenwich Avenue was not always the bustling scene it is today. In fact, not that long ago, during a period between 1893 and 1938 when wealthy benefactors began to view Greenwich as their primary place of residence, all of the important buildings in our municipal district were erected on open farmland right in the center of town. Tour leader John Bridge will take you through the Greenwich Municipal Center Historic District focusing on key structures built between 1893 and 1934.
James Myles (and friends) at the D. S. Mead Homestead, 1909. Old Town Hall in background.
Beginning with the Havemeyer School (1893), built on acreage large enough to be used as a public common, the district includes three war memorials and six masonry buildings erected in the Romanesque Revival, Neo-classical and Art Deco styles: Old Town Hall (1905), old Town Hall Annex (built as the Town’s first high school in 1906), the former Greenwich Post Office (1917), today’s Town Hall (built as the town’s second high school in 1925) and a Central Fire House and Police Station (1938, demolished in 2014). A lot has changed since then, but the remaining buildings contribute immensely to Greenwich’s historic landscape.
A “downtown” Greenwich native, tour leader John Bridge now resides in Riverside. John has witnessed firsthand the last 50+ years of residential and commercial development of his beloved hometown. He is a graduate of Greenwich High School and Georgetown University with a BA in English. After many years working in the telecommunications and travel industries, John is now delighted to educate and entertain both children and adults as a docent for the Bush-Holley House.
Participants will meet in front of the current Town Hall at 101 Field Point Road. The tour will last approximately 1-1/2 hours. Please wear comfortable shoes. There will be a short rest in the middle, but you should expect to be on your feet for 45 minutes. Water will be provided.
Due to limited space, reservations will be limited to two per person and must be made in advance.
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
10:00 to 11:30 am
Sorry, this tour is sold out. If you’d like to join the waiting list, please email Suzanne Flinn.
Cancellation, Refund and Nonsufficient Funds Policy
A full refund for program and special events payments will be made up to 10 days before the program or event. Within 10 days of the program or event, no refund can be granted, but payments may be changed to tax-deductible contributions at payer’s request. A fee of $25 will be charged for checks returned to us for nonsufficient funds.